"O, satanic inferno's denizen -- go!"

Publié le par les Colocousines

"O, satanic inferno's denizen -- go!"

 Poe2.jpg

 

 

Suite de l’article précédent, et puisque les Français ne sont pas les seuls à avoir inventé des poèmes pour se souvenir des décimales du nombre Pi, voici ce qu’à écrit le poète et romancier Edgar Allan Poe :

 

Near a Raven :

 

  Midnights so dreary, tired and weary. 
  Silently pondering volumes extolling all by-now obsolete lore. 
  During my rather long nap - the weirdest tap! 
  An ominous vibrating sound disturbing my chamber's antedoor. 
  "This", I whispered quietly, "I ignore". 
   
  Perfectly, the intellect remembers: the ghostly fires, a glittering 
  ember. 
  Inflamed by lightning's outbursts, windows cast penumbras upon this 
  floor. 
  Sorrowful, as one mistreated, unhappy thoughts I heeded: 
  That inimitable lesson in elegance - Lenore - 
  Is delighting, exciting...nevermore.  
   
  Ominously, curtains parted (my serenity outsmarted), 
  And fear overcame my being - the fear of "forevermore". 
  Fearful foreboding abided, selfish sentiment confided, 
  As I said, "Methinks mysterious traveler knocks afore. 
  A man is visiting, of age threescore."  
   
  Taking little time, briskly addressing something: "Sir," (robustly) 
  "Tell what source originates clamorous noise afore? 
  Disturbing sleep unkindly, is it you a-tapping, so slyly? 
  Why, devil incarnate!--" Here completely unveiled I my antedoor-- 
  Just darkness, I ascertained - nothing more.  
   
 While surrounded by darkness then, I persevered to clearly comprehend. 
  I perceived the weirdest dream...of everlasting "nevermores". 
  Quite, quite, quick nocturnal doubts fled - such relief! - as my 
  intellect said, 
  (Desiring, imagining still) that perchance the apparition was 
  uttering a whispered "Lenore". 
  This only, as evermore.  
   
  Silently, I reinforced, remaining anxious, quite scared, afraid, 
  While intrusive tap did then come thrice - O, so stronger than 
  sounded afore. 
 "Surely" (said silently) "it was the banging, clanging window lattice." 
  Glancing out, I quaked, upset by horrors hereinbefore, 
  Perceiving: a "nevermore".  
   
  Completely disturbed, I said, "Utter, please, what prevails ahead. 
  Repose, relief, cessation, or but more dreary 'nevermores'?" 
  The bird intruded thence - O, irritation ever since! - 
 Then sat on Pallas' pallid bust, watching me (I sat not, therefore), 
  And stated "nevermores".  
   
 Bemused by raven's dissonance, my soul exclaimed, "I seek intelligence; 
  Explain thy purpose, or soon cease intoning forlorn 'nevermores'!" 
  "Nevermores", winged corvus proclaimed - thusly was a raven named? 
  Actually maintain a surname, upon Pluvious seashore? 
  I heard an oppressive "nevermore".  
   
  My sentiments extremely pained, to perceive an utterance so plain, 
  Most interested, mystified, a meaning I hoped for. 
  "Surely," said the raven's watcher, "separate discourse is wiser. 
  Therefore, liberation I'll obtain, retreating heretofore - 
  Eliminating all the 'nevermores' ".  
   
 Still, the detestable raven just remained, unmoving, on sculptured bust. 
  Always saying "never" (by a red chamber's door). 
  A poor, tender heartache maven - a sorrowful bird - a raven! 
  O, I wished thoroughly, forthwith, that he'd fly heretofore. 
  Still sitting, he recited "nevermores".  
   
  The raven's dirge induced alarm - "nevermore" quite wearisome. 
  I meditated: "Might its utterances summarize of a calamity before?" 
  O, a sadness was manifest - a sorrowful cry of unrest; 
  "O," I thought sincerely, "it's a melancholy great - furthermore, 
  Removing doubt, this explains 'nevermores' ". 
   
 Seizing just that moment to sit - closely, carefully, advancing beside it, 
  Sinking down, intrigued, where velvet cushion lay afore. 
  A creature, midnight-black, watched there - it studied my soul, 
  unawares. 
  Wherefore, explanations my insight entreated for. 
  Silently, I pondered the "nevermores".  
   
  "Disentangle, nefarious bird! Disengage - I am disturbed!" 
  Intently its eye burned, raising the cry within my core. 
  "That delectable Lenore - whose velvet pillow this was, heretofore, 
  Departed thence, unsettling my consciousness therefore. 
  She's returning - that maiden - aye, nevermore." 
   
 Since, to me, that thought was madness, I renounced continuing sadness. 
  Continuing on, I soundly, adamantly forswore: 
 "Wretch," (addressing blackbird only) "fly swiftly - emancipate me!" 
  "Respite, respite, detestable raven - and discharge me, I implore!" 
  A ghostly answer of: "nevermore".  
   
  " 'Tis a prophet? Wraith? Strange devil? Or the ultimate evil?" 
  "Answer, tempter-sent creature!", I inquired, like before. 
  "Forlorn, though firmly undaunted, with 'nevermores' quite 
  indoctrinated, 
  Is everything depressing, generating great sorrow evermore? 
  I am subdued!", I then swore.  
   
  In answer, the raven turned - relentless distress it spurned. 
  "Comfort, surcease, quiet, silence!" - pleaded I for. 
  "Will my (abusive raven!) sorrows persist unabated? 
  Nevermore Lenore respondeth?", adamantly I encored. 
  The appeal was ignored.  
   
 "O, satanic inferno's denizen -- go!", I said boldly, standing then. 
  "Take henceforth loathsome "nevermores" - O, to an ugly Plutonian 
  shore! 
 Let nary one expression, O bird, remain still here, replacing mirth. 
  Promptly leave and retreat!", I resolutely swore. 
  Blackbird's riposte: "nevermore".  
   
 So he sitteth, observing always, perching ominously on these doorways. 
  Squatting on the stony bust so untroubled, O therefore. 
  Suffering stark raven's conversings, so I am condemned, subserving, 
  To a nightmare cursed, containing miseries galore. 
  Thus henceforth, I'll rise (from a darkness, a grave) -- nevermore!  
   
   

Alors oui, bon, les trois premiers mots ne correspondent pas aux décimales de π, mais ensuite, on trouve les 740 suivantes… Il ne vous reste plus qu’à compter !

Publié dans Citation de la semaine

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article